Easy Friday: Chalapeno Soup

 

soup

I love soup. Love it. If I find a favorite soup I will eat it for a week straight before MAYBE finding another soup to try. That being said there are a handful of food establishments that serve phenomenal soup, but they are soups that I can’t get the recipe for.

I went way outside of my comfort zone and decided that I had to try to make a soup I had recently, as I knew I couldn’t only eat it once every couple of months when it was available. This soup is full of yummy chicken, carrots, onion, celery, and jalapenos. I personally find it perfect for a cold winter day. Pair it with some crescent rolls and you have yourself a perfect snow day meal!

ChalapenoΒ Soup

What you need:

1 tablespoon olive oil

salt & pepper to taste

1 large chicken breast, cut into chunks

2 tablespoons butter

4 jalapenos, diced

1 cup celery, diced

1 cup carrot, diced

1 small onion, diced

3 garlic cloves, minced

1 teaspoon dried thyme

1 teaspoon garlic powder

ΒΌ cup flour

4 cups chicken stock

2 bay leaves

1 package crescent rolls

What you do:

  1. Heat olive oil in soupΒ pot over medium heat. Season salt & pepper over chicken chunks and add to pot. Cook about five minutes or until cooked through, set aside.
  2. Add butter to pot and melt. Add jalapeno, celery, carrot, onion and garlic. Cook until tender (about five minutes). Add thyme and garlic powder, stir until fragrant.
  3. Mix flour into veggies, coating everything, and stir about a minute. Add chicken stock, chicken and bay leaf. Mix everything together, and cook 3-4 minutes.
  4. Stir in half and half and heat through.
  5. Add salt, pepper or other spices as needed. This is kind of where I messed up because I was winging it so I can’t say for sure how much more I added (sorry)! You just don’t want it to taste very chicken brothy. The heat isn’t too much, so we’re thinking of adding a little bit of cayenne next time around.Play around with it, that’s half the fun of cooking!Allow to simmer, covered, about 15-20 minutes, letting all flavors really settle
  6. While soup simmer, cook crescent rolls according to package
  7. Serve soup with rolls – enjoy!

 

Questions or comments, let me know – I’d love to hear from you (especially if I have forgotten something here, or you have something to add!)

 

Leave a Reply

