Easy Friday: Spicy Chili Mac

20160614_203351

We are just going to have to ignore my terrible food photo this Friday. One of these days I will take a picture of food that doesn’t look like I sloshed the finished product all over the bowl or plate. Yeesh. I need a lesson in plating.

Since the weather has been terrible this week (rain, cold, rain, wind) I have been really craving comfort foods. Basically,Β I want to sit on the couch in my sweatpants and eat a ton of carbs.

I (surprisingly) make a pretty mean chili. & I love mac and cheese. & I wanted both of them at the same time. So – chili mac. The merging of two delicious worlds. The original recipe I have adapted this from comes from Chungah over at Damn Delicious. She is passionate about food and it shows – her recipes are quick, easy and beautiful. If you have time, pop over to her site & take a look!

Disclaimer: I make my chili SPICY. Like, your face will be super warm spicy. So if you do NOT want the spice, just omit the jalapenos and use regular diced tomatoes instead of ones with chilis or added fire. I still would recommend using the chili powder as it does add great flavor all over. I personally love the kick but I know notΒ everyone likes to sweat while they eat.

Spicy Chili Mac

What you need:

1 pound ground beef

12 ounces macaroni – I use elbow but use whatever you want.

1 onion – diced

1 can red kidney beans (drained and rinsed)

1 can cannellini beans (drained and rinsed)

1 can diced tomatoes with chili peppers

32 ounces chicken broth

2 jalapenos, diced

2 garlic gloves, minced (I’m too lazy for this so I use roughly 1 teaspoon from a jar of already minced garlic)

2 teaspoons chili powder

2 teaspoons cumin

1 tablespoon olive oil

salt & pepper to taste

1 cup shredded cheese

Franks hot sauce (totally optional, but I put it on EVERYTHING)

What you do:

  1. heat olive oil over medium heat
  2. add onion, garlic, jalapeno and ground beef
  3. cook until beef is no longer pink
  4. add broth, tomatoes, beans, chili powder, cumin. Salt & pepper to your liking
  5. bring pot to a simmer and stir in macaroni
  6. bring to a boil
  7. cover and turn heat to low, allow to simmer for about 15 minutes or until pasta is done cooking
  8. Turn off heat
  9. Add as much or as little cheese as you want
  10. Add Franks hot sauce (because you need more cha cha cha)
  11. Eat it all in one sitting

 

My husband has a sensitive stomach to cheese so instead of adding the cheese to the entire pot we just added what we wanted once we spooned it into our bowls. I took the leftovers to work and didn’t have any cheese to add and it was still so so good. I love this dish. Total fall favorite or in my case summer favorite because apparently it’s going to rain until the end of time.

Enjoy!!

One thought on “Easy Friday: Spicy Chili Mac

  1. Dear Kristy. I continue to be blown away with your talented writing! Your picture isn’t bad for an amateur You know there are some very talented highly paid photographers who only shoot food. It’s a field that always interested me. I have a couple books on the subject if you ever want to borrow them. Love, Aunt Sue

    Like

Leave a Reply

