Peace, love & hummingbirds

hum.jpg

This morning, thanks to a house shaking thunderstorm, I got up super early, at 6:30 a.m. The world wasn’t yet awake and it was rainy and dreary so I made some coffee and sat on the front porch for some quiet time. I have two hummingbird feeders hanging from our front porch. Every now & then a hummingbird (I have named him Dennis) will pop in and enjoy some nectar (store bought) and be on its way. I love watching them. Aren’t they the cutest?! Their wings moving so fast and their puffy little bodies seemingly suspended in air.

So this morning Dennis stopped by and the feeders were empty. I was mortified. How dare I let them become empty! I never intended to be that lazy. I wasn’t going to go to the store at 6:30 a.m. so I googled hummingbird nectar and was shocked at how easy it was to make your own. Like, ridiculously easy. So there I am at 7 a.m. in the kitchen making hummingbird nectar. Sunday funday!

hummingbird

What you need:

1 cup sugar (NOT sugar substitute, we’re talking real cane sugar)

4 cups water

1 pot

What you do:

Add sugar and water to pot. Turn on high heat and mix until all sugar is dissolved. Bring to a boil. Once boiling turn off the heat. You don’t want it to boil too long because that will burn off the water and you want to stick with the right ratio of sugar to water.Β Β Let it cool before adding it to the feeder.

I made a huge batch and stored it in a plastic jug and put it in the fridge. That way when I need to refill it will be quick and easy. Depending on how much Dennis wants to eat this could be once a week or once ever 3-4 days.

 

I put the feeders up and waited for Dennis to come back. I had too much coffee at this point so it really felt like I was sitting there, camera in hand, forever. After about 15 minutes he came back and was happy as a clam!! I managed to snap some photos before he flew away. I will make sure to keep the feeders full from now on and maybe Dennis will tell his friends. I’d love to see more hummingbirds around!

One thought on “Peace, love & hummingbirds

Leave a Reply

