Easy Friday: Spicy poblano & chicken risotto

DSC_0684

I really really love risotto. I never thought in a million years I would be able to make it myself. When I stumbled upon this easy recipe and then actually made it and then it was actually good (I didn’t burn it OR burn my house down), I was floored! This recipe is so simple to make and the end result is SO delicious, my food dreams have come true. This is also one of only a few meals that my husband will happily eat for days. DAYS. It’s that good!

You can play with the spice (add more or less red pepper flakes). I’ve adapted this recipe to have less spice. The first time I made this I used WAY too much red pepper and my nose ran the entire time I ate. It was delicious and I ate the entire bowl but it was a bit much! The recipe below is a bit muted on spice, so add more if you want! Do keep in mind that the red pepper goes a long way.

Don’t be intimidated by risotto – you can do it!

DSC_0639

What you need:

1 rotisserie chicken (cut into bite size pieces, about 1 1/4 cup)

**you can cook your own chicken breast & use that but we are super busy with limited time so buying chicken already cooked is easiest for us!

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 poblano pepper (2 if you want more spice), diced

1-3 teapoons crushed red pepper

1 teaspoon chili powder

4 green onions, diced

1 cup arborio rice

1/4 cup cooking wine (I use pinot grigio)

4 cups chicken broth

1/2 cup parmesan cheese

 

What you do:

  1. Heat one tablespoon olive oil in pan over medium heat. Add 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes and mix to coat. Add poblano and saute until soft, about 3-5 minutes. Put in bowl and set aside
  2. Add four cups chicken broth to pot and bring to a boil. Once boiling turn down to low to keep warm
  3. In pan heat one tablespoon olive oil over medium heat. Add 1 teaspoon (2 if you want some extra spice) red pepper flakes, one teaspoon chili powder and green onions. Saute together about 2-4 minutes
  4. Add 1 cup rice to pan mixture. Stir to coat. Let cook, stirring occasionally, for 3-5 minutes
  5. Now my favorite part – add the wine!!! Add the 1/4 cup cooking wine and stir until all wine is absorbed
  6. Continue cooking rice by ladling in one scoop of chicken broth at a time. Stir until all broth is completed absorbed. DO NOT add more broth until the previous amount is entirely absorbed by the rice!
  7. Keep adding broth, one ladle at a time, until all broth in the pot is used (this is tedious & takes time but DON’T RUSH, this is how you’re cooking the risotto!)
  8. On final ladle, about halfway through stirring, add parmesan cheese. Fold in the poblanos and the chicken and continue to stir until broth is absorbed
  9. Eat & enjoy – you have made a delicious risotto!

 

We steamed some asparagus as a side and it was pretty darn good. You can use whatever side you choose but my personal choice are green veggies. They are a nice compliment!

If any of the above recipe was confusing or you have questions, drop me a line. I’d be happy to help you make this meal.

Hope you enjoyed Easy Friday this week. Be sure to come back next week for another delicious, easy meal that you and your family can enjoy.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

